A spark in my brain… for ever.

Human being memory is the storage of informations in the brain. The memorization happened by a strengthening or a weakening of the intensity of the connections between our neurons. A neuron look like a tree without leaves and with the roots in the air.

photoneurone

We have 100 billions neurons and there are 10.000 x 100 billions connections in our brain.

neuron net

The communication between neurons works by electrical and chemical way, in a binary notation.
When a neuron receives an information, a really little electrical current is propagated in the neurone.

communicationbetweenneurons

Then this little electrical current changes in chemical signal, an exchange of sodium ions and potassium ions on the surface of the neurons. Did my feelings for the last woman I loved, look like this ?

exchange sodium-potassium

At the first sight, the scientific explanation isn’t poetic. Are our feelings just an electrical and chemical formula ? If so, could we imagine in the future a robot with the same chemical and electrical mix in his computer ?

What is an human being ?

What is the difference between the human being and a robot who could have consciousness of his own existence (like the replicants in BLADE RUNNER movie) ?

“I’ve seen things, you people wouldn’t believe, hmmm.
… attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion.
I’ve watched C Beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhauser Gate.
All those moments, will be lost in time like tears in rain…”
[“… time to die …”]

« Cogito ergo sum » I think so I am of Descartes : the replicant, even if he is not human, has consciousness of his own existence and of his death.

What is the specifity of the human mind ?
What is a living being ?
Where is the frontier between the body and the spirit ?

Another question is what is the uniquenes, the individual, separated unit from a whole more huge ? Are the sparks and the chemical exchanges in my neurones different than those which are in your brain ?

The chemical sparks corresponding to memories of my life are more or less bright.

I remember my Spanish grand father dead in 1963. I was 7 years old. The sparks in my neurons corresponding to my grandfather’s pictures are weak like faraway stars in the sky.

grand père & petit fils

My grandfather will definitively die when the last human being who has in his brain, a spark corresponding to a memory of him, will die.

nournours in neuron copie

Hey you who are reading this post ! Some  Nournours‘ sparks are now running in your brain. From now on, I’m living in you, till your death !

So take care ! 🙂

~ by nournours on June 3, 2009.

3 Responses to “A spark in my brain… for ever.”

  1. I want to suscribe.

  2. Is it possible to actually see a spark in your brain?. That is what happened to me…

    • Yes, I saw many times some spark of the past coming back from the deepness of my soul. How was the sprak you saw ?

Leave a Reply

 
