Love gift

*                                                               *

*

gift

What do we pursue when we give a gift ? There are many answers to this question. Here’s Roland BARTHES‘ one.

Le cadeau amoureux se cherche, se choisit et s’achète dans la plus grande excitation – excitation telle qu’elle semble être de l’ordre de la jouissance. Je suppute activement si cet objet fera plaisir, s’il ne décevra pas, ou si, au contraire, paraissant trop important, il ne dénoncera pas lui-même le délire – ou le leurre dans lequel je suis pris. Le cadeau amoureux est solennel; entraîné par la métonymie délirante qui règle la vie imaginaire, je me transporte tout en entier en lui. Par cet objet, je te donne mon Tout, je te touche avec mon phallus; c’est pour cela que je suis fou d’excitation, que je cours les boutiques, que je m’entête à trouver le bon fétiche, le fétiche brillant, réussi, qui s’adaptera parfaitement à ton désir.

The love gift is searched, chosen, and bought with the greatest excitement – so excitement that it seems to be in the same order than orgasm. I actively calculate what if this object should please, what if it shouldn’t disappoint, or what if, on the contrary, looking too important, it could by itself denounce the madness – or the illusion in whom I’m caught. The love gift is solemn ; dragged by the delirious metonymy that is planning the imaginary life, I entirely carry myself in it. By this object, I give you my Whole, I touch you with my phallus; this is for hat reason I am badly in excitement,   I run round the shops, I persist in searching the good fetish, the bright fetish, successful, that will perfectly adapt to your desire.

The love gift in “Fragments d’un discours amoureux” de Roland BARTHES

I have to say that many times in my life, my feelings made me fall in that delirium situation, but always with love and sincerity.

Life is not always a bad film.

*

beaulie16mm

~ by nournours on August 25, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
